Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Utah Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
78-30-1, et seq.; No

Who May be Adopted
Any child 10 years younger than petitioner; any adult

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
12 years and older

Who may Adopt
Any adult. Must have consent of spouse if married. A single person who is “cohabitating” and involved in a sexual relationship without being married may not adopt.

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
6 months; 1 year for adoptive stepparents

State Agency/COurt
Child and Family Services/District or Juvenile

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
Cannot be contested after entry of final adoption decree

Inside Utah Adoption Laws