Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Rhode Island Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
15-7-2, et seq.; No

Who May be Adopted
Any person

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
14 years and older

Who may Adopt
Any person residing in state may adopt any person younger than himself. If petitioner is married, spouse must join; however, requirement may be waived if it can be shown adoption would be in child’s best interest. Nonresident may petition under certain circumstances.

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
6 months, but court may waive for good cause

State Agency/COurt
Child Welfare Services Dept. for Children and their Families/Family (adults-Probate)

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
180 days

Inside Rhode Island Adoption Laws