Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

North Carolina Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
§48-1-100, et seq.; No

Who May be Adopted
Any person; any adult with his consent; spouses may not adopt each other

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
12 years and older

Who may Adopt
Any adult person over 18 yrs. old or husband and wife jointly or one spouse gives consent, only one unmarried person may file. Must have resided in North Carolina for six months next preceding filing of petition. Residency requirement waived under certain circumstances.

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
At least 90 days

State Agency/COurt
Health and Human Services/Superior

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
6 months

Inside North Carolina Adoption Laws