Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

New Mexico Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
32A-5-1, et seq. (minor); 40-14-1 thru 15 (adult); Yes

Who May be Adopted
Any person; any adult with his consent

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
10 years and older

Who may Adopt
Any individual approved by the court as a suitable adoptive parent. If petitioner is married, spouse must join unless natural parent of adoptee or legally separated or excused from joining by court. Nonresidents may adopt if adoptee is resident or was born in state, is less than 6 mos. old and was placed by agency licensed in state

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
60 days if less than one year old when placed; 120 days if more than one year old when placed (unless waived).

State Agency/COurt
Children, Youth and Families Dept./District Children and Court Division

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
1 year (except where Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 prevails)


Inside New Mexico Adoption Laws