Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

New Jersey Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
9:3, et seq. (minor); 2A:22-1 et seq. (adult); No

Who May be Adopted
Any person. If adult adoption, must be 10 years younger than petitioner

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
10 years and older (to be given consideration)

Who may Adopt
Any person of at least 18 yrs. If petitioner is married, spouse must consent or application may be made jointly. Court may waive any of these requirements for good cause.

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
6 months

State Agency/COurt
Human Services/Superior, Chancery Division, Family Dept.

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
Not specified

Inside New Jersey Adoption Laws