Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Mississippi Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
93-17-1, et seq.; No

Who May be Adopted
Any person

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
14 years and older

Who may Adopt
Any unmarried adult, or husband and wife jointly. Must be Mississippi resident for 90 days preceding filing except under certain circumstances; couples of the same gender are prohibited from adopting.

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
6 months; waiting period may be shortened if child resided in adoptive home prior to entry of interlocutory decree or is stepchild of petitioner.

State Agency/COurt
Dept. of Human Services/Public Welfare/Chancery

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
6 months to challenge interlocutory decree; or 6 mos. from date of final decree


Inside Mississippi Adoption Laws