Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Massachusetts Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
Ch. 210; No

Who May be Adopted
Any person younger than adopter; special requirements are needed for child under age 14.

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
12 years and older

Who may Adopt
Any person of full age, his spouse joining, may, subject to certain exceptions, petition to adopt any person younger than himself (other than petitioner’s spouse, brother, sister, aunt, or uncle of whole or half blood).

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
6 months if adoptee is under 14 unless requirement waived

State Agency/COurt
Social Services/Probate

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
120 days for appeal; may only be made by a parent

Inside Massachusetts Adoption Laws