Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Louisiana Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
Ch. C. Art. 1167-1270; No

Who May be Adopted
Any child or adult; Special procedures exist to adopt adult.

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
Not required

Who may Adopt
Any single person 18 years of age or older, or married couple jointly.

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
1 year/6 mos.

State Agency/COurt
Dept. of Social Services/Juvenile

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
30 days; 6 mos. for fraud or duress

Inside Louisiana Adoption Laws