Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

California Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
Family §§8500-9340; No

Who May be Adopted
Any unmarried minor child at least 10 years younger than prospective adoptive parent or parents; any married minor or adult

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
12 years and older

Who may Adopt
Any adult; must be 10 years older than child unless stepparent, sister, brother, aunt, uncle, or first cousin and court approves

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree

State Agency/COurt
State Department of Social Services/Superior

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
On any grounds except fraud: 1 year; fraud: 3 years

Inside California Adoption Laws