Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Alabama Adoption Laws

Code Section; Uniform Act
26-10A-1 to 26-10A-38; No

Who May be Adopted
(1) Any minor (2) Any adult under following conditions: (a) He or she is permanently disabled (b) He or she is determined to be mentally retarded

Age that Child’s Consent Needed
14 years and older unless adoptee does not have mental capacity to give consent

Who may Adopt
Any adult person or husband and wife jointly; no rule or regulation of Department of Human Resources shall prevent adoption by single person solely because of a certain age; or by a person because he or she works outside the home.

Adoptive Home Residency Prior to Decree
60 days, unless waived by court when good cause is shown

State Agency/COurt
Dept. of Human Resources/Probate Court

Statute of Limitation to Challenge
1 year

Inside Alabama Adoption Laws